Bitcoin Research Prize

What is this?

The Bitcoin research prize is an award to recognize outstanding results that advance Bitcoin and the Lightning Network.
The results can be in cryptography, theoretical computer science, network theory, economics and neighboring fields.
A committee of leading researchers will choose the winners annually

Criteria for nomination

Accepted to a peer-reviewed venue
Published after January 1st, 2020
Relevant to Bitcoin or the Lightning Network

Prize Committee



How related to Bitcoin/LN does the paper need to be?

The paper does not need to be Bitcoin or Lightning Network focused, being applicable is enough.
General results with wide influence are excellent candidates

Is self nomination allowed?

Yes. Note that the “Nominator” field in the submission form is optional